Garimawrits

The City of Joy: A concoction of nerve-numbing moments and tearful rejoice

First off, since I hardly believe in god and austerity, the idea of leaving a cushy life to find god among the poor of a strange land took me by surprise. I was almost considering abandoning the book for the second time, but didn’t do it due to dearth of reading material. However, as I was half way through with the book, I grew very fond of it and was thanking other books for not showing up afresh in my closet. By the time it reached finale, I was dreading the saturation from Hasari Pal’s family and Pole and Max Loeb and Kalima. This is one book you cannot put down and you never want it to end. If given a chance, I can re-read it several times and never come out of it.

The city of Joy

The city of Joy

In case this blog made you wonder where are the traditional elements of a book review, I thought of doing it a different way this time by skipping the obvious ubiquitous content. SInce this is one of the best life-changing books, I thought it deserved something different. Plus, I am not a big fan of knowing the whole story before I read it myself. If you are still curious about the story, here is the Wikipedia link for you. The city of Joy by Dominique Lapierre review and ratings by Goodreads can be perused here. You can order your copy from Amazon. And if you find reading a 525-pager too heavy on your bosom, take a tour of the film. Since I haven’t seen the movie, I do not have a say on it.

What kept me marveled was the fact that not only did this French author had the courage to pen down such bold stories from real life, he and his wife are actively running an organisation to aid the unprivileged with healthcare, education and rehabilitation. To find out more about them visit this link. Got a few spare minutes at hand? Listen to Dominque Lapierre airing his brilliant views in his musical articulation here.

Value add to vocab:

  • Jalopy – an old, decrepit, or unpretentious automobile.
  • Hovel – a wretched hut.
  • Coquette – a woman who flirts light heartedly with men to win their admiration and affection.
  • Protégé – a person under the patronage, protection, or care of someone interested in his or her career or welfare.
  • Torpor – sluggish inactivity or inertia.
  • Purulent – Full of pus

Value add to knowledge:

  • Life of Eunuchs, their ceremonies and gods
  • History of Kolkata
  • Relevance of Durga Pooja
  • Evolution of rickshaw

My Ratings: 5/5

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2017 by in Books and tagged , , , , , , , .
